Dykes Library provides access to many bibliographic databases and databanks. Due to our licensing agreements, use of some databases is restricted to members of the KU community and fee-paying library members. Users who are not eligible to use our databases may request a literature search from a reference librarian.
The following databases Dykes Library subscribes to are available to non-KUMed users. However, they are IP restricted, and can only be accessed by a computer connected to the KUMC network, either on campus or through our EZProxy server.
ABI INFORM provides abstracts of articles from international
professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. Full text is available for some articles.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Frequency: Updated weekly
AccessMedicine is an online resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. With the full text, graphics, images and illustrations of the most recent editions of world-class medical references in internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacology, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care, and with daily content updates, AccessMedicine provides information needed for clinical decision making.
Anatomy.tv – 3D anatomy, interactive medical images, and videos
Provided jointly by KUMC, KU Med, and KUPI
ArticleFirst is a searchable index of journal article citations in
business, science, social science, humanities, medicine, technology and
popular culture. Some full text is available.
Coverage:
Frequency:
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings.
Business and
Company ASAP Use this database to find articles on: Finance,
Acquisitions & Mergers, International Trade, Money Management, New Technologies &
Products, Local & Regional Business Trends, Investments and Banking.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Frequency: Daily updates
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities Since Cabell Publishing, Inc. was founded in 1978, their goal has been to help professors, graduate students and researchers publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal, the company strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide information on publication guidelines and review information.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides access to English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from allied health disciplines (cardiopulmonary technology, communicative disorders, emergency services, health education, medical/laboratory technology, medical assistant, medical records, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy/rehabilitation, physician's assistant, podiatry, radiologic technology, respiratory therapy, social service in health care, and surgical technology). In addition, CINAHL includes pertinent articles from the biomedical, education, behavioral science, management, and popular literature. CINAHL also offers coverage of materials dealing with health sciences librarianship and the online industry. More than 300 serial publications are regularly reviewed and included. Selected nursing and allied health-related books are included as well.
The Cochrane Library is a compilation of databases, updated quarterly, designed to provide evidence to help health care providers decide on the best treatment for a condition or disease by identifying all controlled trials of interventions for a particular condition and reviewing the results to see which work best. The included databases are:
The Cochrane Database of
Systematic Reviews: A collection of full text, evidence-based reviews on the effects
of health care.
The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: Abstract
only, giving critical assessments of systematic reviews done by groups
outside the Cochrane Collaboration
The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: a
vast compendium of citations and abstracts of controlled trials
Methodology Reviews:
Includes the full text of systematic reviews of empirical methodological
studies prepared by The Cochrane Empirical Methodological Studies Methods
Group
The Cochrane Methodology Register: a
bibliography of articles and books on the science of research synthesis
Health
Technology Assessment Database (HTA): Abstracts
only, detailing published assessments of healthcare technologies
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED): Abstracts
only; each summarizes in detail a published economic evaluation of a
health care intervention and provides a qualitative assessment of the
results
Computer Database Full text, abstracts, and references for
computer-related articles from newsstand and trade publications, covering all aspects of
computers, peripherals, software, semiconductors, communications, and telecommunications.
Articles include product announcements, hands-on product reviews, technical advice,
tutorials, buyers guides, and company profiles.
Coverage: Current year to date + the previous 3 years
Frequency: Daily updates
Current Research @ KU Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of all KU dissertations and theses submitted after 1996. Open to all members of the KU community. Off-campus connections will require proxy log-in.
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers.Warnings and Recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.
DynaMed Evidence-based clinical information presented in a concise format to support
point-of-care decision-making. Links to independent drug information, cited literature, and patient education resources.
Frequency: Updated continuously as new evidence is reviewed
Provided jointly by KUMC, KU Med, and KUPI
EBSCO Health Business provides comprehensive journal content
detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical
aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include
hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources,
computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Full text
information in this database dates as far back as 1965, and in some cases,
earlier.
Frequency: Updated daily
ECO (OCLC Electronic Collections Online) provides citations,
abstracts and some full text for over 3,000 scholarly journal titles.
Coverage: 1995 - present
Frequency: Updated daily
Encyclopedia of Gerontology Since the first edition, the research literature on aging continues to expand rapidly, reflecting both the rising interest of the scientific community and also the needs of a growing older population. In the year 1900, persons over 65 years of age were the smallest portion of developed societies. Today they are emerging as the largest. Aging is a complex process of change involving influences of a biological, behavioral, social, and environmental nature, all of which are explored in the context of this encyclopedia. The second edition includes all new articles and wholly new coverage of topics that have seen research advances.
ERIC is an information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of
Education that generates the U.S. national bibliographic database covering
the literature of education. ERIC contains annotated references to
nonjournal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and
to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in
Education (CIJE). Some full text is available.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Frequency: Updated monthly
Expanded Academic ASAP Use this database to find information on: Astronomy,
Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications
and the General Sciences.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Frequency: Daily updates
Faculty 1000 Biology is a new online research service that will comprehensively and systematically highlight and review the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.
Frequency: Daily updates
GPO covers all types of U.S. government documents, including
Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials;
and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office
of the President, etc.). A bibliographic citation is included for each
document. No full text.
Coverage: 1976 - present
Frequency: Updated monthly
Health Reference Center provides access to more than 40 full text nursing and
allied health journals, plus hundreds of consumer health journals, newsletters, pamphlets,
reference books, and selected health-related articles from 1500 general interest
magazines.
Coverage: Current year to date + the previous 4 years
Frequency: Daily updates
Health Business
Fulltext Elite provides journal content detailing all aspects
of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care
institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital
administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities
management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text
content from nearly 460 journals. Full text information in this
database dates as far back as 1965, and in some cases, earlier.
Frequency: Updated daily
¡Informe!
(Revistas en Español Investiga las noticias y eventos más
corrientes, la información de negocios del momento, los artículos de salud más
importantes, temas de cultura popular y muchas otras materias incluidas en las revistas
hispánicas más populares.
Coverage: Current year to date + the previous 3 years
International Tables for Crystallography is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography. It comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
IPA (International Pharmaceutical Abstracts) covers clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs. IPA is produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). ASHP scans over 750 journals published worldwide for information to be added to IPA. In 1988, IPA began including abstracts of papers presented at ASHP's major meetings, and now also includes presentation abstracts from the APhA and AACP annual meetings. IPA will eventually begin adding abstracts of approved Masters and Doctor theses for degrees offered through schools of pharmacy. All U.S. state pharmacy journals are included, as well as most publications on cosmetics. ASHP's selection criteria has no restrictions as to language of article and journal size or obscurity. Letters, editorials, comments and other items that feature significant pharmaceutical information are also abstracted and indexed. IPA is available via OVID only to KUMC affiliates.
Coverage: 1970 to present
Frequency: Quarterly
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.
MD Consult – clinical information, including textbooks, drug information, self-assessment tools, patient education materials
MEDLINE is the bibliographic database of the National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE is the primary source in the United States for information from the biomedical literature, containing references to articles from more than 3700 journals. MEDLINE is the computerized counterpart of Index Medicus, the Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
MEDLINE includes such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care. The full text of the articles is not provided in MEDLINE, but approximately half of the records contains abstracts written by the article's author. The database is international in scope; approximately 75% of the citations are published in English. A free version of MEDLINE is available to anyone via PubMed.
Coverage: 1966 to present
Frequency: Monthly
Tipsheet available
National
Newspaper Index Locate citations in these newspapers: The New York
Times (Late and National Editions, including the Book Review
and Magazine); The Wall Street Journal (Eastern and Western Editions); The Christian
Science Monitor (National Edition); The Washington Post (Final Edition); The Los Angeles
Times (Home Edition).
Coverage: Current year to date + the previous 3 years
Frequency: Daily updates
Nursing Reference Center – clinical nursing information, including textbooks, drug information, patient education materials
Provided jointly by KUMC, KU Med, and KUPI
OECD Health Data 2007 offers a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems in OECD economies. It is an essential tool for policy advisors in governments, health researchers in the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health systems. OECD Health Data is a unique, interactive database covering over 1 200 indicators and offering sophisticated query modules.
PapersFirst covers congresses, symposiums, conferences,
expositions, workshops and meetings worldwide. No full text.
Coverage: 1993 - present
Frequency: Updated twice a month
ProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide
conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1993- present
Frequency: Updated twice a week
ProQuest Nursing
& Allied Health Source offers complete information
from leading nursing and related publications, many with full text.
Coverage: 1986-present
ProQuest Research Library offers access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The
database includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text. It features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade
publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Coverage: 1971-present
PsycINFO is compiled by the American Psychological Association. The PsycINFO Serials database contains summaries of journal literature, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO Serials covers over 1300 journals in more than 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. The PsycINFO Chapters/Books database contains summaries of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines published worldwide. To integrate behavioral articles, books and book chapters from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
UnionLists
allows you to search for libraries which own a particular journal title. No
full text.
Coverage: Lists holdings for OCLC member libraries.
Frequency: Updated twice a year
UpToDate
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to clinicians online.
It is intended to give clinicians the concise, practical answers at the point of care.
Frequency: Daily updates
Provided jointly by KUMC, KU Med, and KUPI
Web of Science consists of multidisciplinary indexes of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the indexes for articles that cite a known author or work. Searchable databases include: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Two search formats are available:
Concept Search allows free-text searching for topics and keywords.
Enter words, phrases, and sentences in the search box-or cut and paste text
from other documents.
Form Search is field-directed searching. Depending on which products
you select, you can search by Topic, Author/Inventor, Patent Number, Patent
Assignee, Source Title, Conference/Meeting Information, and Address.
Coverage: 1983-present
World Almanacs provides access to the Funk & Wagnall's New
Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the
U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics and The World Almanac for
Kids.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Frequency: Updated yearly
WorldCat allows you to search for books, manuscripts, maps,
newspapers, recordings, videos and other materials held by other libraries.
Coverage: Lists holdings for OCLC member libraries
Frequency: Updated daily
Zynx – evidence-based decision support, including physician order sets and interdisciplinary care plans
Provided by KU Med Hospital
These databases are restricted to KUMed users only and require a password to access them, even from the library or other areas on campus.
GCG provides both a web interface (SeqWeb) and a Telnet interface to a core set of Wisconsin Package programs that allow researchers to compare, map, manipulate and analyze nucleic acid and protein sequences. Passwords for access may be requested for KUMC Affiliates only by filling out this form.
Dykes Library also provides access to many databases freely available through the World Wide Web.
AgeLine is produced by the AARP and contains detailed summaries of
publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and
magazine articles, research reports, and videos. Its references come
from the gerontology collection of AARP's Research Information Center, as
well as selected articles from 300 magazines and journals. All references
include original abstracts which are copyrighted by AARP.
Coverage: 1978-present, with selective coverage from 1966-1977
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a machine-readable database of
bibliographic records created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers
materials dating from the 16th century to the present. The records describe publications
and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including
plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural
economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices,
and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support NAL's Information Center
activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal
welfare, are also included.
Coverage: 1970 to present
Cancer Mortality Maps & Graphs provides interactive maps, graphs (which are accessible to the blind and visually-impaired), text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.
CDC Wonder provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, recommendations, and numeric public health data and statistics. Topics include AIDS, sexually transmitted disease, accidents, morality & morbidity reports and vaccines, among others.
ChemIDplus is a chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and
regulatory interest. Records include CAS Registry Numbers and other identifying numbers,
molecular formulae, generic names, trivial names, other synonyms, MeSH headings, and file
locators which lead users to other files on the ELHILL and TOXNET systems. In addition,
SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30
key federal and state regulatory lists.
Frequency: Quarterly (approximately)
CHID is a database produced by health-related agencies of the Federal
Government. This database provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for
health information and health education resources.
Frequency: Quarterly
CIRRIE contains over 24,500 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present. The CIRRIE Database includes only published materials that concern research conducted outside of the United States.
DIRLINE contains location and descriptive information about a wide variety of information resources including organizations, research resources, projects, and databases concerned with health and biomedicine. These information resources fall into many categories including federal, state, and local government agencies; information and referral centers; professional societies; self-help groups and voluntary associations; academic and research institutions and their programs; information systems and research facilities.
Entrez is a molecular sequence retrieval system developed at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Entrez provides an integrated approach for gaining access to nucleotide and protein sequence information, to the MEDLINE citations in which the sequences were published, and to a sequence-associated subset of MEDLINE. The sequence records are derived from a variety of database sources, including GenBank, EMBL, DDBJ, PIR, SWISS-PROT, PRF, and PDB. Entrez is available free via the Internet.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is an information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that generates the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. The ERIC database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from more than 750 professional journals. In addition, ERIC now contains over 850 ERIC Digest records that feature the full text of the original document. ERIC is available free via the Internet.
ETOH The Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database, commonly referred to as
ETOH, is the most comprehensive online resource covering all aspects of alcohol abuse and
alcoholism. Produced by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA),
ETOH contains approximately 100,000 records and is accessed by both researchers and
clinicians worldwide. Included in ETOH are abstracts and bibliographic references to
journal articles, books, dissertation abstracts, conference
papers and proceedings, reports and studies, and chapters in edited works.
Coverage: 1960s to present
Frequency: Monthly
FDA Online Orange Book is composed of four parts: (1) approved
prescription drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations; (2)
approved over-the-counter (OTC) drug products for those drugs that may not
be marketed without NDAs or ANDAs because they are not covered under
existing OTC monographs; (3) drug products with approval under Section 505
of the Act
administered by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research; and (4) a
cumulative list of
approved products that have never been marketed, have been discontinued from
marketing, or
have had their approvals withdrawn for other than safety or efficacy reasons
subsequent to being
discontinued from marketing.
Frequency: Monthly
FREIDA (Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database Access System) is a directory designed to provide general and detailed information on all ACGME accredited graduate medical education programs. The data has been collected by the American Medical Association (AMA) from surveys of graduate medical education programs and affiliated institutions. FREIDA is available free via the AMA's WWW site.
GrayLIT Network makes the gray literature of U.S. Federal Agencies easily accessible over the Internet. It taps into the search engines of distributed gray literature collections, enabling the user to find information without first having to know the sponsoring agency. Included are documents from the EPA, DOE, NASA and Federal R&D Project Summaries.
Haz-Map is an occupational toxicology database
designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks which are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is a relational database of chemicals, jobs and
diseases.
HEAL's mission is to provide free digital resources of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators. HEAL promotes the preservation and exchange of useful educational assets while respecting ownership and privacy. By using state-of-the-art Internet technologies, HEAL enables educators across the country to efficiently search and retrieve teaching resources from a variety of sources.
HSTAT provides access to full-text documents useful for providing health information and for health care decision making. Available
publications include: clinical practice guidelines, quick-reference guides for clinicians, consumer health brochures, evidence reports and technology
assessments.
Images from the History of Medicine provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
International
Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
is a database of published, international, scientific
literature on
dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. IBIDS is
produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health.
The IBIDS database currently contains over 328,000 scientific citations and abstracts.
Frequency: Quarterly
Jablonski's Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation (MCA/MR) Syndromes Database helps facilitate the identification and differentiation of syndromic entities. Of approximately 1600 to 2000 syndromes in which multiple congenital anomalies are associated with mental retardation, over 700 are included in this resource. Additional multiple congenital anomaly/mental retardation (MCA/MR) syndromes will be added in future updates.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings.
Coverage: mid-1960s - present
LOCATORplus is the NLM's catalog of books, journals, and audiovisuals and access points to other medical research tools.
Coverage: fifteenth century to the present (virtually all of the cataloged titles in the
NLM collection)
Frequency: Weekly
LocusLink provides a single query interface to curated sequence
and descriptive information about genetic loci. It presents information on
official nomenclature, aliases, sequence
accessions, phenotypes, EC numbers, MIM numbers, UniGene clusters, homology,
map locations, and related web sites.
Frequency: Weekly
MEDLINEPlus is
a consumer-level health information database from the National Library of
Medicine. MEDLINEPlus has extensive
information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over
500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a
medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive
information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the
media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a comprehensive database of
evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced
by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department
of Health and Human Services, in partnership with the American Medical
Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP).
Updated: Weekly
NUTRITION.GOV provides easy access to all online federal government information on nutrition, including healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety. The website also links to information about nutrition and food assistance programs such as the Food Stamp Program, the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children, and the School Lunch and Breakfast programs and to federally supported research, reports, and brochures as well as funding opportunities in the federal government. Users can find information on healthy eating, the food guide pyramid, the dietary guidelines for Americans, dietary supplements, fitness and how to keep food safe.
OLDMEDLINE contains citations published in the 1960 through 1965 Cumulated Index
Medicus and covers the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health
sciences. Subject searching of this file is available through key words (the original
Medical Subject Headings, MeSH, assigned back in 1960-65) and text phrases. Unlike
MEDLINE, this file contains no abstracts nor MeSH heading (MH) field data from NLM's
current controlled vocabulary.
Coverage: 1960 to 1965
Frequency: None. The file contains 771,287 records
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
or OMIM is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with links to literature references, sequence records, maps, and related databases. It is based on the book, Mendelian Inheritance in Man.
Frequency: The online version is updated daily
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and
randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have
been critically appraised and rated to help users to evaluate their validity
and interpretability.
Frequency: Updated weekly.
PDQ, NCI's Comprehensive Cancer Database contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, and supportive care; a registry of approximately 1,700 open and 10,300 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counselors, and organizations that provide cancer care.
PEDro provides access to bibliographic details and
abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in
physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to
help users quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid
and interpretable and those which are not.
Coverage: 1929-Present
Frequency: Updated every 2 weeks
PHIL The Public Health Image Library (PHIL) offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is an extensive collection of images and multimedia files related to public health. Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain and are thus free of any copyright restrictions.
POPLINE POPLINE provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and
related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and
population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country
issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and
child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment. POPLINE
citations are searchable with POPLINE keywords as well as MeSH headings.
Coverage: 1970 to present (selected citations date back to 1886)
Frequency: Monthly
PrimateLit includes over 200,000 citations (1940 to date) relating
to biomedical research, behavior,ecology, conservation and veterinary care
of nonhuman primates.
Coverage: 1940 to present
PubMed The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information at the National Library of Medicine, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. It is expected that access to additional National Library of Medicine databases will be added in the future.
REHABDATA
focuses on disability and rehabilitation. The main file, 1997-present, describes over
12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent
living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law,
employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The types of
documents described in REHABDATA include research reports, books, journal articles, and
audiovisual materials. A backfile covering 1956-1996
is also available. REHABDATA is produced by the National Rehabilitation
Information Center.
Coverage: 1956-present
Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine for the Internet. It enables scientists, students and anyone searching for scientific information to chart and pinpoint data, locate university sites and find reports and articles quickly and easily. It was launched by Elsevier Science, an international publisher of scientific information.
TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's extensive collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains more than 3 million bibliographic citations, almost all with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers. Chemical substances can be searched by entering their corresponding CAS Registry Numbers and/or synonyms.
TOXNET is a computerized collection of files on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas. TOXNET contains the following files:
CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis
Research Information System): Organized by chemical record, this databank
contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, tumor inhibition, and mutagenicity test results
derived from the scanning of primary journals, current awareness tools, National Cancer
Institute (NCI) technical reports, review articles, and International Agency for Research
on Cancer monographs published since 1976. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis. CCRIS
is sponsored by the NCI.
Frequency: Monthly
DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center): contains
references on biological, chemical, and physical agents that may cause birth defects.
Records include bibliographic citations, abstracts (when available), MeSH, chemical names,
and CAS Registry Numbers. DART/ETIC is produced by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA),
the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) and the National Center
for Toxicological Research (NCTR) in cooperation with the NLM. DART® (Developmental and
Reproductive Toxicology)
Coverage: 1965 to present
EMIC and EMICBACK (Environmental Mutagen Information Center
BACKfile): contains references to chemical, biological, and physical
agents that have been tested for genotoxic activity. The records include full
bibliographic references, keywords, chemical names, and CAS Registry Numbers. The file is
produced by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in cooperation with the NLM and funded by
the EPA and the NIEHS.
Coverage: 1950 to 1991
Frequency: None. Recent citations (1992- ) are in the EMIC database.
ETICBACK (Environmental Teratology Information Center
BACKfile): contains references on agents that may cause birth defects. The
records include bibliographic citations, ETIC keywords, chemical names, and CAS Registry
Numbers. ETICBACK was funded by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
(ATSDR), the EPA, and the NIEHS.
Coverage: 1950 to 1989
Frequency: None. Recent citations (1989- ) are included in the DART database.
GENE-TOX (GENetic TOXicology): An online
data bank created by the Environmental Protection Agency and made available on TOXNET.
GENE-TOX is a multi- phase effort to review and evaluate the existing literature and assay systems available in the field of genetic toxicology; the data have been peer reviewed.
Frequency: as needed; the file contains about 2,900 records.
HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank): This
data bank is organized by chemical record and covers the toxicity and biomedical effects of chemicals. The file is enhanced with data from such related areas as emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, human exposure, detection methods, and regulatory
requirements. HSDB contains complete references for all data sources utilized. The file is fully peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP), a committee of expert
toxicologists and other scientists. HSDB is built, maintained, reviewed and updated on the
NLM's Toxicology Data Network
(TOXNET).
Updates: Continuous; the file contains over 4,500 records.
IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System): contains chemical-specific EPA health risk and
regulatory information prepared by the Environmental Protection Agency. The TOXNET version
of the file includes oral reference doses and inhalation reference concentrations for
non-carcinogens, and data such as slope factors and unit risks for carcinogens. Toxic risk
data undergo a high level of scientific review.
Frequency: Monthly
NCI-3D: 2D and 3D information compiled by the National Cancer Institute, and augmented by MDL
TRI (Toxic chemical Release Inventory): TRI
is a series of non-bibliographic files based upon data submitted by industrial facilities
around the country to the EPA as mandated by Section 313 of the Emergency Planning and
Community Right-To-Know Act. TRI records include the names and addresses of industrial
facilities releasing toxic chemicals, the amounts released to air, water, land, or by
underground injection, and the amounts transferred to waste sites. Files after TRI91
contain source reduction and recycling data as mandated by the Pollution Prevention Act of
1990. TRI93 contains data on chemicals released by federal facilities (supplied on a
voluntary basis by some government agencies).
Coverage: 1987 to 1994
Frequency: Annually
TRIFACTS (Toxic chemical Release Inventory FACT Sheets): Intended
as a companion to the TRI series, and based largely upon the State of New Jersey's
Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets. Designed for a lay audience, they present scientifically
accepted information in non-technical language.
Frequency: As needed
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference provides data on 6,220 foods for up to 117 nutrients and food components.
U.S. Patent Database includes information about all US patents (including
utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) from the first
patent issued in
1790 to the most recent issue week. Patents from January 1976 to the present
offer the full searchable text, including all bibliographic data, such as
the inventor's name, the patent's title, and the assignee's name; the
abstract; the full description of the invention; and the claims. Patents
from 1790 to December 1975 offer only the patent number and the current US
patent classification.
